CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Devon Life today CLICK HERE

Review: Survivor by Lesley Pearse

PUBLISHED: 13:25 21 July 2014 | UPDATED: 10:13 24 July 2014

Survivor by Lesley Pearse

Survivor by Lesley Pearse

Archant

Staff Writer Gemma Clapp reviews the bestselling author’s latest novel, out now

With sales over over 10 million copies, author Lesley Pearse is one of the best known and loved writers from the modern era. And the global number one bestseller, who has a holiday home in Torquay, is back with her latest novel, Survivor.

Survivor is the third book in the enthralling Belle series, with the hardback book reaching number one in the charts in February 2014. To celebrate the release of the paperback version, we were lucky enough to get our hands on a copy.

Set in 1938, Survivor is a historical drama that follows 17-year-old Mariette as she travels from New Zealand to London while Europe is on the brink of war.

The story is compelling and addictive and, like all of Pearse’s other novels, left me gripped from beginning to end. It’s no surprise that she’s often dubbed ‘the Queen of Storytellers’; Survivor has it all - love, happiness, heartbreak and sorrow.

It’s the perfect book to pack for your summer holiday or to enjoy curled up on the sofa after a day at work.

Survivor is published by Penguin, penguin.co.uk, 01206 25616

More from People

Friday, December 7, 2018

Devon Life received this heartfelt letter from Mr Michael Thompson, of Torbay, which is felt particularly poignant to share with our website audience at this time of year

Read more
Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Bursting with festive inspiration, KATE WILLIAMS seeks out the best presents for a perfect Devon Christmas

Read more
Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Devon has had more than its fair share of high achievers over the years but how well do you know our county’s singers, authors, sportspeople, explorers and TV personalities? This is an edited version of a quiz compiled by MARGARET BRECKNELL in the December 2018 issue of Devon Life

Read more
Tuesday, November 27, 2018

PHILIP DALLING recalls two Exmoor legends who shared a deep love of the moor and its natural resources, and gained national fame through the media

Read more
Tuesday, November 20, 2018

In the month when we mark the 100th anniversary of the end of the First World War, STEVE ROBERTS highlights the terrible cost in human lives it inflicted on the county of Devon

Read more
Friday, November 16, 2018

Actor Tom Burke talks to JUDI SPIERS about his production of Don Carlos staged by his own theatre company Ara, in association with Exeter’s Northcott Theatre

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

In the latest in her series throughout 2018 profiling inspirational women, KATE HASKELL talks to England Women’s Cricket Captain, Heather Knight

Read more
Friday, October 26, 2018

There is more to Georgia Toffolo than an award-winning TV show, as HOLLY EELLS discovers

Read more
Friday, October 26, 2018

Striving to be the best in the world, homegrown Devon professional squash player Lyell Fuller is seeking sponsorship to help reach his goal. KATE WILLAMS finds out more

Read more
Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Tavistock Rugby Club in Devon is celebrating after being awarded a grant of £2,500 to fund private showers for referees at their Sandy Park ground, as part of rural energy provider Calor’s annual funding scheme

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Devon’s Wilfred Emmanuel-Jones, also known as The Black Farmer, tells KATE WILLIAMS about his new book, Jeopardy, encouraging the embracing of risk to enrich life

Read more
Tuesday, October 2, 2018

As five members of Dartmoor Search and Rescue Ashburton celebrate 125 years of collective volunteering, we look back on their time with the organisation

Read more
Tuesday, September 25, 2018

CAROLYN SEAGER reveals how long after her mother’s death she discovered her amazing career in the service of her country

Read more
Tuesday, September 18, 2018

An author known for her novels depicting life on the Channel Islands is nonetheless happiest writing from home here in Devon

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy



Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search