CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Devon Life today CLICK HERE

Review: Next To Me A Robin by Ros Brady

PUBLISHED: 14:51 26 May 2015 | UPDATED: 14:51 26 May 2015

Next To Me A Robin Book Cover

Next To Me A Robin Book Cover

Archant

Annette Shaw reviews Next To Me A Robin by Ros Brady

Ros BradyRos Brady

Writings From The Woods and Fields of Dartington Hall Estate Devon: 2006-2009

Published by Barrow Court Press. Paperback £ 8

Great Hall Event at Dartington Ways With Words Festival - 8 pm Sunday July 6th 2015

Ros will be performing as a song-writer and reading excerpts from her new book and launching her first book of lyrics at this event

Inspired by the landscape and biodiversity of Dartington Hall Estate, Devon. The author takes you by the hand, leads you to a quiet place and a vibrant encounter with the natural world.

When Ros Brady first walks into the rain and the sun of a Devon summer and stands among the wild flowers in the fields searching for peace and a sense of belonging, the young writer and the rolling half-wild, half-farmed landscape of Dartington are joined in an experience that will haunt her forever. These are her writings in poetry and prose. Pencilled outdoors on scraps of paper they lead the reader, young or old, on her trail through the ash copses in storm, in the heat of summer, among the birds, the wild animals, the river and streams in rain and hail, at day-break and night. “Next To Me, A Robin” was written during a difficult time in Ros’s life. “‬I was losing my ability to see.‭ ‬All I wanted to do was be out in the wild woods and fields-I would find quiet places observing the wild life and flora.‭ ‬I rediscovered a relationship with nature I had as a child.‭ ‬I hope the book encapsulates a child-like joy in nature.”

In this unusual book the protagonist sets up a special relationship with her readers and invites them to enter into her place in the landscape. She strikes up a close bond with her reader. Frequent line drawings heighten the texts. They are an integral part of the story and have fully realized the poems.

More from People

Friday, December 7, 2018

Devon Life received this heartfelt letter from Mr Michael Thompson, of Torbay, which is felt particularly poignant to share with our website audience at this time of year

Read more
Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Bursting with festive inspiration, KATE WILLIAMS seeks out the best presents for a perfect Devon Christmas

Read more
Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Devon has had more than its fair share of high achievers over the years but how well do you know our county’s singers, authors, sportspeople, explorers and TV personalities? This is an edited version of a quiz compiled by MARGARET BRECKNELL in the December 2018 issue of Devon Life

Read more
Tuesday, November 27, 2018

PHILIP DALLING recalls two Exmoor legends who shared a deep love of the moor and its natural resources, and gained national fame through the media

Read more
Tuesday, November 20, 2018

In the month when we mark the 100th anniversary of the end of the First World War, STEVE ROBERTS highlights the terrible cost in human lives it inflicted on the county of Devon

Read more
Friday, November 16, 2018

Actor Tom Burke talks to JUDI SPIERS about his production of Don Carlos staged by his own theatre company Ara, in association with Exeter’s Northcott Theatre

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

In the latest in her series throughout 2018 profiling inspirational women, KATE HASKELL talks to England Women’s Cricket Captain, Heather Knight

Read more
Friday, October 26, 2018

There is more to Georgia Toffolo than an award-winning TV show, as HOLLY EELLS discovers

Read more
Friday, October 26, 2018

Striving to be the best in the world, homegrown Devon professional squash player Lyell Fuller is seeking sponsorship to help reach his goal. KATE WILLAMS finds out more

Read more
Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Tavistock Rugby Club in Devon is celebrating after being awarded a grant of £2,500 to fund private showers for referees at their Sandy Park ground, as part of rural energy provider Calor’s annual funding scheme

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Devon’s Wilfred Emmanuel-Jones, also known as The Black Farmer, tells KATE WILLIAMS about his new book, Jeopardy, encouraging the embracing of risk to enrich life

Read more
Tuesday, October 2, 2018

As five members of Dartmoor Search and Rescue Ashburton celebrate 125 years of collective volunteering, we look back on their time with the organisation

Read more
Tuesday, September 25, 2018

CAROLYN SEAGER reveals how long after her mother’s death she discovered her amazing career in the service of her country

Read more
Tuesday, September 18, 2018

An author known for her novels depicting life on the Channel Islands is nonetheless happiest writing from home here in Devon

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy



Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search