CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Devon Life today CLICK HERE

Devon shines in tourism excellence awards

PUBLISHED: 11:27 31 January 2014 | UPDATED: 11:27 31 January 2014

Arundell Arms - Gold Award

Arundell Arms - Gold Award

Nick Williams Photography

The best tourism businesses across South West England were recognised at the South West Tourism Excellence Awards 2013-14, in association with Source for Business.

The winners were revealed at Plymouth’s Holiday Inn, where 66 different awards were announced following a rigorous judging process in which a record 350 entries were considered.

The ceremony was hosted by ITV Westcountry news presenter Ian Axton, with a stimulating opening presentation by travel writer Sally Shalam, one of the few in her trade to focus on British rather than overseas travel. The awards broke the previous record for entries.

Devon picked up fewer awards overall, but more at the Gold level, with the top awards for English Riviera Tourism Company, the Arundell Arms, River Cottage in Plymouth and the Old Rectory Hotel.

Alongside the awards for businesses was the rather different ‘Superstar’ award for outstanding customer service. This saw tougher competition than ever before, with a draw for the top position between Dickon Allen from Montacute in Somerset and Matt Druce from Westward Living in Devon.

In addition to the category awards, two special awards were presented. Pennywell Farm received a special award for water management whilst the award for Outstanding Contribution to Tourism went to The South West Coast Path.

The night’s final Winner of Winners award, went to Calvert Trust Exmoor, who also picked up two other Golds having inspired the judging panel with their achievements, vision and inspiration.

Up to four award winners from each category in this year’s awards will all now go on to represent the region at the National Enjoy England Awards for Excellence in May.

Chair of Judges, Alistair Handyside, said: “The list of finalists really does look like a who’s who of the best in the South West. Once again the entrants have surpassed themselves in showing that investment, innovation and creativity remain at the heart of the visitor economy in the region.”

John Crouch, Marketing Manager for Title Sponsors, Source for Business, said:

“The Tourism Awards once again demonstrate how impressively the tourism sector is delivering a great visitor experience in the south west.”

THE FINALISTS

BED & BREAKFAST AND GUEST ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by e-Strategy – www.e-strategy.net

GOLD

Pentillie Castle, St Mellion, Cornwall www.pentillie.co.uk

SILVER

The Seafood Restaurant – restaurant with rooms, Padstow, Cornwall www.rickstein.com

BRONZE

Launceston Farm B&B, Blandford Forum, Dorset www.launcestonfarm.co.uk

Pendragon Country House, Davidstow, Cornwall www.pendragoncountryhouse.com

HIGHLY COMMENDED

The Elmdene, Torquay, Devon www.elmdenehotel.co.uk

The Village Pub, Cirencester, Glos www.thevillagepub.co.uk

SELF CATERING ESTABLISHMENT OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Pavey Group - www.paveygroup.co.uk

GOLD

Headland Hotel, Newquay, Cornwall www.headlandhotel.co.uk

SILVER

Seahorse Apartments & Westward Living at Duckhaven Stud, Westward Ho! Devon www.westwardliving.co.uk

BRONZE

The Big House Company, Wellington, Somerset www.thebighouseco.com

Greenwood Grange, Dorchester, Dorset www.greenwoodgrange.co.uk

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Little White Alice, Carnmenellis, Cornwall www.littlewhitealice.co.uk

West Pitt Farm, Tiverton, Devon www.westpittfarm.co.uk

TOURISM EVENT OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by A Head for PR - www.aheadforpr.co.uk

GOLD

Ageas Salisbury International Arts Festival, Salisbury, Wilts www.salisburyfestival.co.uk

SILVER

Dorset Seafood Festival, Weymouth, Dorset www.dorsetseafood.co.uk

Falmouth Oyster Festival, Falmouth, Cornwall www.falmouthoysterfestival.co.uk

BRONZE

RNAS Yeovilton International Air Day, Yeovilton, Somerset www.royalnavy.mod.uk/yeovilton-airday

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Exeter Festival of South West Food & Drink, Exeter, Devon www.exeterfoodandrinkfestival.co.uk

Veuve Clicquot Polo on the Peach, Watergate Bay, Cornwall www.watergatebay.co.uk/polo

HOLIDAY PARK OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Stephens Scown solicitors www.stephens-scown.co.uk

GOLD

Highlands End Holiday Park, Bridport, Dorset www.highlandsendholidaypark.co.uk

SILVER

Wooda Farm Holiday Park, Poughill, Cornwall www.wooda.co.uk

BRONZE

Cofton Country Holidays, Dawlish, Devon www.coftonholidays.co.uk

Gwel an Mor Resort, Portreath, Cornwall www.gwelanmor.com

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Finlake Holiday Park, Chudleigh, Devon www.finlake.co.uk

The Park Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth, Cornwall www.mawganporth.co.uk

Perran Sands Holiday Park, Perranporth, Cornwall www.haven.com/parks/cornwall/perran-sands

South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, Lytchett Minster, Dorset www.southlytchettmanor.co.uk

TOURIST INFORMATION SERVICE OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Quality in Tourism - www.qualityintourism.com

GOLD

English Riviera Visitor Information Service, Devon www.englishriviera.co.uk

SILVER

Dartmouth Tourist Information Centre, Devon www.discoverdartmouth.com

BRONZE

Lyme Regis Tourist Information Centre, Dorset www.visit-dorset.com

Poole Welcome Centre, Dorset www.pooletourism.com

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Bodmin Visitor Information Centre, Cornwall www.bodminlive.com

Ilfracombe Tourist Information Centre, Devon www.visitilfracombe.co.uk

Launceston TIC, Cornwall www.visitlaunceston.co.uk

VENUE & BUSINESS TOURISM AWARD

Sponsored by Lloyds Bank Commercial Banking - www.lloydsbankbusiness.com

GOLD

Arundell Arms Hotel, Lifton, Devon www.arundellarms.co.uk

SILVER

Deer Park Country House Hotel, Weston, Devon www.deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk

BRONZE

Dartington Hall, Dartington, Devon www.dartingtonhall.com

SMALL VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Resort South West - www.resortsouthwest.com

GOLD

National Trust Coleridge Cottage, Nether Stowey, Somerset www.nationaltrust.org.uk/coleridgecottage

SILVER

Geevor Tin Mine, Pendeen, Cornwall www.geevor.com

BRONZE

St Austell Brewery Visitor Centre, St Austell, Cornwall www.staustellbrewery.co.uk/visitor-centre

Tiverton Museum of Mid Devon Life, Tiverton, Devon www.tivertonmuseum.org.uk

HIGHLY COMMENDED

National Trust Trerice, Kestle Mill, Cornwall www.nationaltrust.org.uk/trerice

Wild Futures Monkey Sanctuary, Looe, Cornwall www.monkeysanctuary.org

TOURISM ACTIVITY, SPORT & EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Moore Scarrott - www.moore-scarrott.co.uk

GOLD

Calvert Trust Exmoor, Kentisbury, Devon www.calvert-trust.org.uk/exmoor

SILVER

Arundell Arms Hotel, Lifton, Devon www.arundellarms.co.uk

National Trust Brownsea Island, Poole, Dorset www.nationaltrust.org.uk/brownsea

BRONZE

Polkerris Beach, Polkerris, Cornwall www.polkerrisbeach.com

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Big Zoo Animals Keeper Experience at Noah’s Ark Zoo Farm, Wraxall, Somerset www.noahsarkzoofarm.co.uk

Le Vignoble, Plymouth, Devon www.levignoble.co.uk

TOURISM SUPERSTAR AWARD FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

Sponsored by The Met Office - www.metoffice.gov.uk

JOINT GOLD

Dickon Allen from Montacute House, Montacute, Somerset www.nationaltrust.org.uk/montacute-house

Matt Druce from Westward Living at Duckhaven Stud, Westward Ho! Devon www.westwardliving.co.uk

JOINT SILVER

Geof Curtis from Brownsea Island, Poole, Dorset www.nationaltrust.org.uk/brownsea

Christine Hornsby from Perran Sands Holiday Park, Perranporth, Cornwall www.haven.com/parks/cornwall/perran-sands

TASTE OF SOUTH WEST AWARD

Sponsored by Hale Events - www.hale-events.com

JOINT GOLD

Bybrook Restaurant at the Manor House, Castle Combe, Wilts www.manorhouse.co.uk

River Cottage Canteen & Deli, Plymouth, Devon www.rivercottage.net/canteens

JOINT SILVER

Eastbury Hotel, Sherborne, Dorset www.theeastburyhotel.co.uk

The Herring, Mawgan Porth, Cornwall www.bedruthan.com/theherringrestaurant

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Juliet’s Garden Restaurant & Bar, St Mary’s, Isles of Scilly www.julietsgardenrestaurant.co.uk

Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, Umberleigh, Devon www.northcotemanor.co.uk

Porthminster Beach Cafe, St Ives, Cornwall www.porthminstercafe.co.uk

Tudor Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant, Clearwell, Glos www.tudorfarmhousehotel.co.uk

TOURISM PUB OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Purple Cloud Consultancy - www.purplecloudconsultancy.co.uk

GOLD

Pandora Inn, Mylor, Cornwall www.pandorainn.com

SILVER

The Cornish Arms, St Merryn, Cornwall www.rickstein.com

Start Bay Inn, Torcross, Devon www.startbayinn.co.uk

BRONZE

The New Inn, Tresco, Isles of Scilly www.tresco.co.uk

HIGHLY COMMENDED

The Inn at Cranborne, Cranborne, Dorset www.theinnatcranborne.co.uk

The Jack in the Green, Rockbeare, Devon www.jackinthegreen.uk.com

The Lamb Inn, Sandford, Devon www.lambinnsandford.co.uk

SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD

Sponsored by Plymouth University, School of Tourism & Hospitality - www.plymouth.ac.uk/schools/th

GOLD

Little White Alice, Carnmenellis, Cornwall www.littlewhitealice.co.uk

SILVER

Compton Pool Farm, Marldon, Devon www.comptonpool.co.uk

BRONZE

Arundell Arms Hotel, Lifton, Devon www.arundellarms.co.uk

Railholiday, St Germans, Cornwall www.railholiday.co.uk

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Hedgehog Corner, Uplyme, Devon www.hedgehogcorner.co.uk

Pennywell Farm, Buckfastleigh, Devon www.pennywellfarm.co.uk

LARGE VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Take One Media – www.takeonemedia.co.uk

GOLD

Longleat, Warminster, Wilts www.longleat.co.uk

SILVER

The Big Sheep, Bideford, Devon www.thebigsheep.co.uk

BRONZE

Cotehele, Saltash, Cornwall www.nationaltrust.org.uk/cotehele

Trebah Garden, Mawnan Smith, Cornwall www.trebah-garden.co.uk

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Eden Project, Bodelva, Cornwall www.edenproject.com

The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Pentewan, Cornwall www.heligan.com

RHS Garden Rosemoor, Great Torrington, Devon www.rhs.org.uk/rosemoor

Pennywell Farm, Buckfastleigh, Devon www.pennywellfarm.co.uk

ACCESS FOR ALL AWARD

Sponsored by Tourism for All - www.tourismforall.org.uk

GOLD

Calvert Trust Exmoor, Kentisbury, Devon www.calvert-trust.org.uk/exmoor

SILVER

A Little Bit of Heaven, Lostwithiel, Cornwall www.alittlebitofheaven.co.uk

Mortons House Hotel, Corfe Castle, Dorset www.mortonshouse.co.uk

BRONZE

Countryside Mobility South West, Exeter, Devon www.countrysidemobility.org

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Wingz Bird & Animal Sanctuary, Par, Cornwall www.wingzbirdsanctuary.co.uk

LARGE HOTEL OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Hotel Perfect - www.hotelperfect.co.uk

GOLD

Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa, Colerne, Wilts www.lucknampark.co.uk

SILVER

Headland Hotel, Newquay, Cornwall www.headlandhotel.co.uk

The Manor House Hotel & Golf Club, Castle Combe, Wilts www.manorhouse.co.uk

BRONZE

Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, Mawgan Porth, Cornwall www.bedruthan.com

SMALL HOTEL OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Buckleigh Linen Services - www.buckleigh.co.uk

GOLD

The Old Rectory Hotel, Martinhoe, Devon www.oldrectoryhotel.co.uk

SILVER

Hell Bay Hotel, Bryher, Isles of Scilly www.hellbay.co.uk

BRONZE

Barnsley House Hotel, Cirencester, Glos www.barnsleyhouse.com

Talland Bay Hotel, Looe, Cornwall www.tallandbayhotel.co.uk

HIGHLY COMMENDED

The Alverton, Truro. Cornwall www.thealverton.co.uk

BridgeHouse Hotel, Beaminster, Dorset www.bridge-house.co.uk

Percy’s Country Hotel, Virginstow, Devon www.percys.co.uk

WINNER OF WINNERS

Sponsored by First Great Western www.firstgreatwestern.co.uk

Calvert Trust Exmoor, Kentisbury, Devon www.calvert-trust.org.uk/exmoor

SPECIAL AWARD FOR WATER MANAGEMENT

Source for Business www.sourceforbusiness.co.uk

Pennywell Farm, Buckfastleigh, Devon www.pennywellfarm.co.uk

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO TOURISM

The South West Coast Path www.southwestcoastpath.com

0 comments

More from Out & About

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Devon is particularly stunning at this time of year and so we’ve picked out 18 stunning pictures that encapsulate the county during the festive period

Read more
Wednesday, November 28, 2018

From cosy pubs galore to winter beach walks, there’s plenty to enjoy in Devon at Christmas. We list 19 reasons you should come visit us this December.

Read more
Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Devon is a joy to explore with its beautiful beaches, pretty woodland and charming towns and villages. Made even more magical under a blanket of glistening frost, we pick 12 walks to blow away the cobwebs in the county this winter

Read more
Tuesday, November 27, 2018

A South Devon walk along a wreck-rich coastline with SIMONE STANBROOK-BYRNE

Read more
Tuesday, November 20, 2018

In the latest of our 24-hour tours of Devon’s best locations, we head to Britain’s Ocean City

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

With breathtaking beaches, rolling countryside, stately homes and unique villages, it’s no wonder high-profile film productions flock to Devon - how well do you know the movies that have set up camp here however?

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether it’s on our beautiful beaches, in our magnificent moors or within our stunning stately homes, film productions are constantly setting up in Devon. Here are 16 that you might not know used the county as a filming location

Read more
Friday, October 26, 2018

From angry spirits to headless horses and ghoulish monks, Devon has more than a few supernatural stories to get your skin crawling. We have picked 11 haunted places in the county

Read more
Tuesday, October 23, 2018

October is the perfect time to discover the joys of Exmoor. Jennette Baxter of Visit Exmoor suggests five great ways to enjoy autumn on the moor

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Wild camping can be one of the best ways to escape the crowds for a night or two and lose yourself in the landscape - SOPHIE PAVELLE chooses her five favourite places to ‘wild-life’ camp in Devon

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

From sandy beaches and lighthouse-topped cliffs to views of the Jurassic Coast, the Devon coastline offers many perfect locations for a seaside walk. We pick 10 of the prettiest routes to take

Read more
Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Take our quiz to find out how well you really know Devon

Read more
Tuesday, October 2, 2018

As the weather starts to warm up and the Devon countryside beckons, LIZZIE JANE of the National Trust in the South West offers plenty of walk ideas for you to try. Whether you want a relaxed Sunday stroll or a more strenuous hike, here are 10 walks across Devon (and beyond) to help you escape the crowds and head off the beaten track

Read more
Tuesday, September 25, 2018

The South West Coast Path is celebrating 40 years by calling on people to help raise £40,000. To show their support, teams from Devon’s top tourist attractions are preparing to take to the trail. CHRISSY HARRIS finds out more

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy



Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search