CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Devon Life today CLICK HERE

Julian Rees Visits China Orchids Restaurant, Cullompton, Devon - Restaurant Review

PUBLISHED: 19:46 14 January 2010 | UPDATED: 16:32 20 February 2013

Julian Rees Visits China Orchids Restaurant, Cullompton, Devon - Restaurant Review

Julian Rees Visits China Orchids Restaurant, Cullompton, Devon - Restaurant Review

Julian Rees visits Robby Ho's China Orchids restaurant in Cullompton, Devon and gets slain by the Green Dragon.

Julian Rees visits Robby Ho's China Orchids restaurant in Cullompton and gets slain by the Green Dragon.



Having 5,000 years of history to look back upon, the debate over Chinas national flower remains unsettled. OK, so you were probably blissfully unaware of this fact as we all take the English rose for granted, and you probably dont give it a second thought, but China Orchids restaurant is certainly testament to Chinas very visual floral history.


The restaurant is split into three dining rooms: the Peony, the Orchid and the Chrysanthemum, each of whose walls are hand-decorated as well as hosting many delicate and precious blooms. The separate bar area, clad in bamboo, supplies a different ambience for pre- and after-dinner drinks away from the dining area.


Considering the building is Grade II Listed, proprietor Robby Ho has created a contemporary and relaxing environment in the former High Street caf and guest house.


The restaurant has been open for 6 1/2 years and attracts diners from all over the county. Originally trained as an engineer, Robby returned to catering 12 years ago to follow in his fathers footsteps and to indulge his wifes love of cooking.

This evening we were to be treated to the Christmas special set meal for two. Not being a common Chinese ingredient, the turkey did, however, not disappoint.


We started with an assortment of hors doeuvres - mainly seafood, the restaurants extensive speciality - accompanied by quite the most ornately carved carrot-fish, fashioned, Im told, in mere minutes by the nimble-fingered chef.


Following this course was my must-have favourite, crispy duck. In my opinion every trip to a Chinese restaurant should include this and often its the measure of the meal, and in this case the homemade hoi sin puts China Orchids amongst my local favourites.


For main course came sizzling turkey in black pepper sauce, pork in sweet soy, and king prawns in a birds nest, this time all overlooked by an even more exquisite carrot-eagle! The turkey was cooked to perfection and as I sat, under the watchful eye of a large, grinning, be-tinselled Buddha, I felt the first tinge of Christmas.


To celebrate we finished off in the traditional way with banana fritters followed by a shot of finest genuine Chinese liqueur locally known as the Green Dragon.



Why not tell us about your favourite chinese restaurant in the comments box at the bottom of this article...



The service was great, the waitresses friendly and helpful, and Robbys Green Dragon frighteningly intoxicating!


JULIAN REES


China Orchids Restaurant


20 High Street


Cullompton


EX15 1JJ


01884 33336


www.chinaorchids.com



Opening Hours


Monday-Thursday:"5.30pm-11pm


Friday and Saturday:"5.30pm -11.30pm


Sunday: Buffet Lunch 12.30pm-2.30pm, Evening 6.00pm-10.30pm


Proprietor: Robby Ho


Head Chef: Poh Woo




Sample Menu


Specialising in Cantonese, Peking & Szechuan Cuisine



Starters


Aassorted hors doeuvres


Cantonese beef dumpling with green pepper



Main Courses


Stir-fried scallops with mange-tout served in a birds nest


Peking-style chicken with chilli and sweet bean sauce



Desserts


Mango Melba


Cassis Royale



In your area you could try:


Yum Sing, Babbacombe Road, Torquay. 01803 293314


The Royal Garden, St Andrews Cross, Plymouth. 01752 313138


Fullam Restaurant, Tuly Street, Barnstaple. 01271 328 882


Birds Nest Restaurant, Barley Market Street, Tavistock. 01822 610611


0 comments

More from Food & Drink

Fri, 10:27

Devon Life’s readers and followers have been voting for their favourite food & drink stars and we can now reveal our winners who were honoured at our glamorous ceremony at Sandy Park on November 15

Read more
Wed, 08:31

Public Houses are a cornerstone of life here in Britain, dating back as far as the Roman invasion in 43 AD. Devon is no different and its humble establishments are steeped in history and nostalgia. We’ve taken a look at 11 of the county’s most historical pubs

Read more
Tuesday, October 30, 2018

A traditional Christmas pudding recipe, served with clotted cream and a brandy Crème Anglaise with a dash of cognac

Read more
Friday, October 26, 2018

Whether you have strawberry or raspberry jam on your scones, or prefer Earl Grey to English breakfast tea, we’ve found 12 of the best tearooms that Devon has to offer

Read more
Monday, October 22, 2018

We’ve spoken to award-winning chef Michael Caines MBE to find out more about Lympstone Manor’s wine celebration evenings and when their new vineyard will produce its first bottle of wine

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

The Sunday lunch is an enduring British institution that’s incredibly important to get right. We’ve chosen 12 places in Devon that will guarantee sublime stuffing, mouth-watering meats and Yorkshire pudding perfection.

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

As the winter begins to close in, there’s nowhere better to take refuge than one of Devon’s many cosy pubs. Here are 9 you should look for when needing to escape the nippy British weather

Read more
Thursday, October 4, 2018

Check out Michael Caines’ column in the latest issue of Devon Life where you can read more about what this recipe will be perfect with

Read more
Wednesday, October 3, 2018

We reveal the winner of Devon’s Tea Room / Coffee Shop of the Year. Sponsored by Radio Exe

Read more
Wednesday, October 3, 2018

We reveal the winner of Devon’s Best Sunday Roast. Sponsored by cottages.com

Read more
Wednesday, October 3, 2018

We reveal the winner of the Pub of the Year award. Sponsored by WBW Solicitors

Read more
Wednesday, October 3, 2018

We reveal the winner for the Restaurant of the Year award. Sponsored by Westchem

Read more
Wednesday, October 3, 2018

We reveal the winner for the Local Producer of the Year award. Sponsored by Exeter Chiefs

Read more
Wednesday, October 3, 2018

We reveal the winner for the Independent Retailer of the Year award. Sponsored by NFU Mutual

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy


Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search