3 ISSUES FOR JUST £3 Subscribe to Devon Life today click here

Julian Rees Visits China Orchids Restaurant, Cullompton, Devon - Restaurant Review

PUBLISHED: 19:46 14 January 2010 | UPDATED: 16:32 20 February 2013

Julian Rees Visits China Orchids Restaurant, Cullompton, Devon - Restaurant Review

Julian Rees Visits China Orchids Restaurant, Cullompton, Devon - Restaurant Review

Julian Rees visits Robby Ho's China Orchids restaurant in Cullompton, Devon and gets slain by the Green Dragon.

Julian Rees visits Robby Ho's China Orchids restaurant in Cullompton and gets slain by the Green Dragon.



Having 5,000 years of history to look back upon, the debate over Chinas national flower remains unsettled. OK, so you were probably blissfully unaware of this fact as we all take the English rose for granted, and you probably dont give it a second thought, but China Orchids restaurant is certainly testament to Chinas very visual floral history.


The restaurant is split into three dining rooms: the Peony, the Orchid and the Chrysanthemum, each of whose walls are hand-decorated as well as hosting many delicate and precious blooms. The separate bar area, clad in bamboo, supplies a different ambience for pre- and after-dinner drinks away from the dining area.


Considering the building is Grade II Listed, proprietor Robby Ho has created a contemporary and relaxing environment in the former High Street caf and guest house.


The restaurant has been open for 6 1/2 years and attracts diners from all over the county. Originally trained as an engineer, Robby returned to catering 12 years ago to follow in his fathers footsteps and to indulge his wifes love of cooking.

This evening we were to be treated to the Christmas special set meal for two. Not being a common Chinese ingredient, the turkey did, however, not disappoint.


We started with an assortment of hors doeuvres - mainly seafood, the restaurants extensive speciality - accompanied by quite the most ornately carved carrot-fish, fashioned, Im told, in mere minutes by the nimble-fingered chef.


Following this course was my must-have favourite, crispy duck. In my opinion every trip to a Chinese restaurant should include this and often its the measure of the meal, and in this case the homemade hoi sin puts China Orchids amongst my local favourites.


For main course came sizzling turkey in black pepper sauce, pork in sweet soy, and king prawns in a birds nest, this time all overlooked by an even more exquisite carrot-eagle! The turkey was cooked to perfection and as I sat, under the watchful eye of a large, grinning, be-tinselled Buddha, I felt the first tinge of Christmas.


To celebrate we finished off in the traditional way with banana fritters followed by a shot of finest genuine Chinese liqueur locally known as the Green Dragon.



Why not tell us about your favourite chinese restaurant in the comments box at the bottom of this article...



The service was great, the waitresses friendly and helpful, and Robbys Green Dragon frighteningly intoxicating!


JULIAN REES


China Orchids Restaurant


20 High Street


Cullompton


EX15 1JJ


01884 33336


www.chinaorchids.com



Opening Hours


Monday-Thursday:"5.30pm-11pm


Friday and Saturday:"5.30pm -11.30pm


Sunday: Buffet Lunch 12.30pm-2.30pm, Evening 6.00pm-10.30pm


Proprietor: Robby Ho


Head Chef: Poh Woo




Sample Menu


Specialising in Cantonese, Peking & Szechuan Cuisine



Starters


Aassorted hors doeuvres


Cantonese beef dumpling with green pepper



Main Courses


Stir-fried scallops with mange-tout served in a birds nest


Peking-style chicken with chilli and sweet bean sauce



Desserts


Mango Melba


Cassis Royale



In your area you could try:


Yum Sing, Babbacombe Road, Torquay. 01803 293314


The Royal Garden, St Andrews Cross, Plymouth. 01752 313138


Fullam Restaurant, Tuly Street, Barnstaple. 01271 328 882


Birds Nest Restaurant, Barley Market Street, Tavistock. 01822 610611


0 comments

More from Food & Drink

Yesterday, 11:24

The inaugural England’s Seafood FEAST will see events happening across the South Devon area known as the English Riviera, which includes Torquay, Cockington, Paignton, Brixham and Babbacombe.

Read more
Tuesday, September 18, 2018

South Hams local MARC COWLING deliberates the increasing fascination with lure fishing for sea bass, and how a passion has become his full-time occupation

Read more
Thursday, September 6, 2018

This salad can be served as a main or a starter. The wild duck, celeriac and game hollandaise are delicious together

Read more
Thursday, September 6, 2018

After an overwhelming response to last month’s competition, Devon Life has teamed up with Food Drink Devon and its members for the second time to create another delectable foodie prize

Read more
Tuesday, September 4, 2018

As the winter begins to close in, there’s nowhere better to take refuge than one of Devon’s many cosy pubs. Here are 9 you should look for when needing to escape the nippy British weather

Read more
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

The owners of a famous Devon ice cream company have launched a new foodie venture, as Catherine Courtenay discovers

Read more
Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Whether you have strawberry or raspberry jam on your scones, or prefer Earl Grey to English breakfast tea, we’ve found 12 of the best tearooms that Devon has to offer

Read more
Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Verity Hesketh is enchanted by Devon’s renowned floating restaurant

Read more
Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Public Houses are a cornerstone of life here in Britain, dating back as far as the Roman invasion in 43 AD. Devon is no different and its humble establishments are steeped in history and nostalgia. We’ve taken a look at 11 of the county’s most historical pubs

Read more
Friday, August 10, 2018

Having two distinctly different and unconnected coastlines, Devon boasts some very fine, and very varied, beach and coastal cafés that really come into their own during the outdoorsy days of summer. Simone Stanbrook-Byrne picks 7 heavenly Devon beach and coastal cafés

Read more
Tuesday, August 7, 2018

With views of the coast, the countryside and our towns and cities, Devon’s eateries are home to some of the best views the county has to offer. Here are 23 places that are a treat for the tongue and the eyes

Read more
Tuesday, July 31, 2018

The Sunday lunch is an enduring British institution that’s incredibly important to get right. We’ve chosen 12 places in Devon that will guarantee sublime stuffing, mouth-watering meats and Yorkshire pudding perfection.

Read more
Tuesday, July 24, 2018

There’s nowhere better to make the most of the glorious summer sun in Devon than in one of our many delightful beer gardens. From north to south, we pick 9 of the best pubs to visit

Read more
Tuesday, July 24, 2018

For most of us, the difficulty of having a cream tea is deciding whether to put the jam or cream on first (cream first, obviously). But for coeliacs and the gluten intolerant, finding a place that caters for your dietary needs can be far harder. To help you out, we’ve picked 8 places for gluten-free cream tea in Devon

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy


Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search